Add some “flair”!

Standard

If you’ve ever seen the movie “Office Space”, you know that “flair” can be an important component of your working attire.  Do you need 37 pieces of flair for your outfit to be successful?  Unfortunately, I don’t know the answer to that question, but I often wish I had more flair.  I’ve also noticed that some of the most compelling clothing has that extra something because of its details.  It could be interesting buttons, contrasting topstitching, a great fabric choice artfully assembled, or a small tag that sets that pair of pants apart from one that is nearly identical.  Luckily, small details are some of the easier elements to add to a garment you already own.  When you need to wake up some tired old jeans or you find a treasure at the thrift store that needs a little something, add a detail!  Here are a few pairs of thrift store jeans I added some detail to.

Change out a button on your pants with a vintage button for a new look.

Change out a button on your pants with a vintage button for a new look.

This particular pair of jeans needed a little more TLC because the former button had ripped out.  I patched it from both sides and then sewed on a vintage button I got from my in-laws’ attic.  Thanks to them, I have a nice little collection of vintage buttons now.  Here’s a close up where you can see the patch.

Once broken jeans, RENEWED!

Once broken jeans, RENEWED!

Here is another pair of jeans I got at the thrift store (Love that place!  So many treasures!).  I managed to knock the button off these myself, so I attached one that was similar in color to the original.  The buttons don’t match any more, but that can be part of the charm.

"New" button for old jeans

“New” button for old jeans

Detail, jeans with "flair"

Detail, jeans with “flair”

Projects like this are an excellent way to highlight that one cool button you found at the antique store or salvaged from an old shirt or jacket.

There are so many ways to make your clothing more special.  Have you ever tried it?  What has been your most successful bit of flair?

3 responses »

  1. I have a huge button collection, problem is I have a lot of one’s and twos of lovely buttons. I often try to used different styles but matching colors when making dresses. I’m surprised when people notice the buttons are different. On sweaters I often replace one of the buttons with a button that shines…it makes for a nice little detail.

    Like

Comments? Leave them here.

