Low-hanging fruit

Standard
Low-hanging fruit

At one point in my life, I was in a desert (not dessert, sadly, but desert) of creation.  I wasn’t making much of anything, and I was feeling pretty down about it all.  That was when I made an important discovery, something I think of as “low-hanging fruit” or (nearly) instant gratification.

I made a necklace.  It took me all of 10 minutes using things I already had, but I got so many compliments on it, and it really gave me a boost.  It was a little weird (I like to keep things just a little weird), but lots of fun.  If you find yourself in that place, then here is your antidote…or at least something to get you thinking along those lines.

Here is what I made:

DIY necklace

This necklace was constructed from three things:  fishing line, felted wool balls, and olive wood beads.  The fishing line is fairly sturdy (25 lb. test).  I think I got it at Wal-mart when I was in high school.  The felted wool balls were a gift from my mother, and can easily be found in all different colors and sizes on etsy or in some craft or knitting stores.  The olive wood beads were recycled from a bracelet I got as a child from Assisi, Italy.  I loved the bracelet, but it was never comfortable, and I didn’t wear it much.  This turned out to be a good reuse of some of the beads.

I threaded the fishing line on a needle, put it through the beads and balls, and tied a knot.  Voila!  Finito!

I find that when I have complicated projects swirling in my mind, or in progress, (or I’m in the desert land of non-creation), a quick and easy project can get me going again or renew my interest and excitement in making things.  That’s why I’m going to share a few quick and easy necklace projects with you this week.  The nice thing about jewelry these days is that it can be made from anything.

Check out these necklaces from Anthropologie to see what I mean:

Conch Tassel Necklace

Tiered Bungee Necklace

Stacked Rounds Necklace

If they can make these things and sell them, you can make a necklace out of found objects, too.  In addition you’ll save a ton of money by making it yourself and end up with a unique bespoke piece.  Make a quick and easy project, whatever it may be, and give yourself a lift that will carry you into new creative territory…or just brighten your day.

6 responses »

  1. I love the necklace too! I have also had those low creativity moments. YOu are right, doing one small project gets the creative juices going again. :o)

    Like

Comments? Leave them here.

