Quick and easy necklace

Standard

Here’s the next quick necklace for you in our week of quick and easy necklaces.  This one is also inexpensive and very easy (and great if you are around children that like to tug on your jewelry).

An easy necklace YOU can make!

This necklace is made of a strip of t-shirt material cut on the cross-grain and some one-half inch unfinished wooden beads from the craft store.

To make it, take an old t-shirt and cut a one and a half inch strip horizontally across the section that covers the stomach and back.  Then pull on the section like you are trying to stretch it out until it curls up.  Next, cut it open if there were no side seams or cut off the side seams if there were seams (giving you two shorter pieces).  The necklace can be made with the long piece or one of the shorter pieces depending on what you have.  Then thread the ends through the beads–as many as you want–and tie a knot in the end.  This part can be a little tricky, but it can be done!  I often rearrange my beads and sometimes I retie the knot to make the necklace shorter or longer.  You could paint the beads if you want to, but I like the unfinished look, and I’ve had people ask me where I got it or if I got it at J.Crew.  It’s great to say, “I made it!”

5 responses »

    • Thanks! That’s the idea–start with a simple concept and customize it. Then you’ll always have something unique and fun, but also quick and easy to make. Thanks for checking out my blog. I look forward to looking through yours, too!

      Like

Comments? Leave them here.

