Hot Chocolate: A Winter Staple

Standard

Hot chocolate has been a winter staple in our house as far back as I can remember.  My Mom had a recipe she got from a cookbook called House Specialties.  (I’m guessing this is the author’s web page, but I’m not certain.  Looks like the book may be out of print.)  Over the years, she tweaked it until it became her own.

Hot Chocolate recipe from Pattern and Branch

Not only did that hot chocolate recipe warm my winters at home, it carried my roommate and me through college and became famous among my friends.  When I got married, my Mom passed the recipe along to me, and I did my own tweaking until it became my recipe.  Our kids and frequent guests have come to love it.  I thought I’d share it with you so you can make it your own, too.

Hot Chocolate Mix

Ingredients:

Note that these are not hard and fast measurements.  I’ve adjusted them to the amounts I find at the grocery store, so feel free to do the same.

  • 30 ounces instant chocolate (like Nestle Quick, Ovaltine, or a store brand chocolate milk mix)
  • 10 quarts non-fat dry milk powder (the actual net weight of the dry milk powder is 32 ounces, but you can typically buy a box that makes 10 quarts of milk if you add water)
  • 15 ounces non-dairy creamer (I recommend vanilla flavored creamer)
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

Instructions:

Mix all ingredients in a huge bowl.  Store in a large container (I use a 23 c. (about 5 1/2 L) plastic container, but have also used zip top plastic bags and large plastic pretzel containers.

To serve:

Mix 3-4 heaping tablespoons in 6-8 ounces of hot water.  If you want to try some great add-ins, I recommend any of these, or a combination:  half and half, cream, flavored creamer, flavored syrup (I like peppermint.), candy canes or peppermints, marshmallows.

Other information:

This makes about 87 ounces (5 1/2 pounds).  A heaping tablespoon of this mix is about 1/2 ounce.

This is a great recipe to change up according to your own tastes.  If you try it and come up with some favorite new recipes, I’d love to hear about them!

3 responses »

  1. This is the BEST hot cocoa and I recently discovered that if you mix a little bit into your coffee it’s even better than Starbucks …. so yummy!!! Thanks Lisa!!!

    Like

Comments? Leave them here.

