Quilt in Progress

Standard

For a long time now, I’ve wanted to make a quilt.  My dream quilt would be a Hawaiian applique style…but I feel like I have to work up to that.  So, inspired by The Quilts of Gee’s Bend,  Nancy Crow’s Quilts and Influences, and Anna Maria Horner’s quilting style, I decided to make one of my own.  I made a drawing a bunch of years ago that morphed and changed into something that would be scrappy and off-kilter, but still geometric.  I wanted it to be relatively fast to put together, but with a hand-quilting element, since I like a bit of hand-sewing.  It’s been my project in the background for a number of years now.  Ironically enough, I was afraid to do Hawaiian applique because I thought it would take me until I was 80 to finish it, but at the rate this one is going, I might be 80 anyway before I get this done.

Here are some shots of the quilt’s progress.  I won’t go into all the details of it, but feel free to ask questions if there is something you are interested in that I didn’t touch on.

Early quilt sketch (Pattern and Branch)

Early quilt sketch

Originally I conceived of this quilt made from upcycled felted wool sweaters.

Collage of the Quilt Design (Pattern and Branch)

Collage of the Quilt Design (Pattern and Branch)

I made a collage of my idea using paper and canvas scraps.  There is a black frame which was a great graphic element that became the black border around my quilt.

Collage of quilt design with clear overlay detailing quilting (Pattern and Branch)

Collage of quilt design with clear overlay detailing quilting

I used a grease pencil on a clear overlay to get an idea of what I wanted the quilting to look like.

Quilt in progress (Pattern and Branch)

Quilt in progress

The quilt is assembled and basted together and I’ve begun quilting it.

Detail of quilting (Pattern and Branch)

Detail of quilting

Every Christmas, I tell myself that if I would focus on this, we could have a new quilt for our bed as a Christmas present.  Maybe next Christmas, right?  😉

6 responses »

  1. Lisa,
    It’s beautiful already. A hint you may already know about… when stitching straight lines, use masking tape and stitch along side the tape as a guide. It makes nice straight lines and the stitching goes very quickly that way. My aunt Needy who is a great quilter taught me that years ago.
    My first quilt was a lap quilt with applique bird houses, vines and berries. It took me 10 years to finish it! I got most of it together pretty quickly than I froze when it came to the applique part. There were several years when I just ignored it. Then a friend invited me on a quilting weekend. I had made several simple block quilts in the mean time but had nothing to work on for that weekend. I knew there were going to be a couple other ladies there that were good quilters, one of whom was a quilting instructor. So, I brought it. Well, that was enough to get me jump started. The four of us sat around all weekend and all we did was quilt. After I returned home I finished the quilt within a couple weeks.
    Maybe all you need is some companion quilters? Winter is a great time to hand quilt. You can sit all wrapped up in your work nice and cozy. Get to it girlfriend! No excuses! Don’t spend 10 years on it!!!
    🙂 Gretchen

    Like

    • You crack me up! I did not know that taping trick. That’s really smart! Thanks! Thanks for sharing that story about your quilt, too. Maybe I just need to watch more Project Runway and quilt…I have sort of gone nuts watching past seasons of that show lately…

      Like

Comments? Leave them here.

