DIY Baby Gifts

Standard

I’m at a point in life where a lot of friends and family members are having babies.  Maybe you are there, too?  I often like to make gifts for the new baby, and I keep a three-ring binder filled with DIY projects that I’ve found, so I have a resource when I need an idea.  Most of these are from the web, so I thought I’d share some links to interesting and favorite projects with you.  I’ve tried some of these out, and some are ones I’d like to try.  Here they are:

1.  Chibi Kitty and Rabbit by My Little Mochi

This one is fun to make and super cute.  She links you to her free pattern.

Chibi Kitty and Rabbit (pattern from My Little Mochi, made by Pattern and Branch)

Chibi Kitty and Rabbit (pattern from My Little Mochi, made by Pattern and Branch)

2Felt Baby Shoes by Martha Stewart

These are also fun to make and a great way to use up felted sweaters.

3.  Do you have some parents-to-be who love Converse All Stars?  Then this one is for them.  I saw a picture in The Improper Bostonian of some Converse All Stars embroidered with a wedding message.  This is easy to adapt for new parents.  Be on the lookout for some little Converse shoes and, once the baby is born, embroider his or her name and date of birth on the side.

Now we’re into some projects I’ve never tried, but that look really cool.

4.  What about an Electrified Fox Lamp?  It’s pretty darn cute and comes with a free pattern.  I kind of have a thing for foxes (Remember Halloween?), but you can do this with any stuffed animal.

5.  Here is a quick and easy, modern-looking baby quilt.  I’ve yet to try this, but it looks fast and simple, which is about my speed for baby projects.

6.  Collapsible Storage Baskets by sew4home.  Everyone nursery needs storage.  These use recycled cardboard to keep them stiff, but also fold down for when you don’t need them.

7.  Finally, for you knitters out there, I love the book Weekend Knitting by Melanie Falick.  It’s been out enough years now that you should be able to find it at the library.  She has several cute projects for kids, but one of my favorites is Curly Toed Elf Slippers.  These may be more for older kids or for when the baby gets older, but they are so darn cute, I had to include them.

Curly-toed elf slippers (pattern by Melanie Falick, made by Pattern and Branch)

Curly-toed elf slippers (pattern by Melanie Falick, made by Pattern and Branch)

I’m writing up tutorials for you on some of my most basic, but also most loved baby gifts, so you’ll see those over the next month or two.  Until then, I hope this gives you some new ideas if you find yourself in need of a baby gift.

5 responses »

Comments? Leave them here.

