Quick Project: Slouchy Hat

Standard

Do you ever get in one of those ruts where you spend a lot of time thinking about making things, but you don’t actually make anything?  Maybe you haunt Pinterest or check out a huge stack of books from the library to look through, and then you make…nothing.  Well, when you get stuck like that, what do you do to get out of it (or do you just go deeper in?)?  My best cure is a quick project.

The other night, I was wasting time, and decided that I needed to stop, so I googled something along the lines of “how to sew a slouchy hat”.  You’ve probably seen those hats around (maybe on Pinterest when you are looking for inspiration instead of working?).  They seem to be a big trend from where I’m sitting, but they don’t look too hard to make.  I found this tutorial on eHow.  Then I took some polar fleece a friend had given me when she was cleaning out her studio, and tried it.  Here’s what I got:

Simple Slouchy Hat

I was pretty skeptical when I had sewn it.  It’s basically a rectangle that you sew into a tube, and then you gather one end and hem the other.  It looks a little funny, but I really liked it when I put it on.  It was comfortable, it was an easy way to try out a trend, and making it in black fleece sucked in the light and hid weirdness.  😉  When I was sewing the rectangle into a tube, I left some of the selvage showing, giving the hat a black on black stripe.  It was the one distinctive detail in the hat, and I really like how it turned out.

Do you have any slouchy hat patterns or instructions that you love?  If so, share in the comments!

4 responses »

Comments? Leave them here.

