Outside in October

Standard

As usual in October in New England, the weather is unusual.  We have warm days cozied right up next to cold ones.  One day I’m worried about the first frost coming and the next I’m wearing shorts.  It’s crazy, but I love it.  It’s getting us ready for that fall chill that’s sure to come.  One thing that doesn’t seem to change, though, is that it is beautiful here in the fall.  Here’s a little bit of what I’ve seen outside this month.

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

Sunset

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

Shagbark Hickory tree

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

Shagbark Hickory nuts

I went foraging last week for Shagbark Hickory (Carya ovata) nuts.  This is a new plant for me, but I’ve been researching through many books and websites to double, triple, and quadruple check myself.  Any foragers out there?  Want to comment and let me know if you think I’m right or not?

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

Mountaintop view in Pawtuckaway State Park, New Hampshire

Our family and some friends spent Columbus Day hiking in Pawtuckaway State Park in New Hampshire.  It was lovely.  I took lots of mushroom pictures, so I could try to identify them later.  I’m not ready to forage for mushrooms, but I would like to start learning them.

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

I’m also hoping to figure out what this tree is.  Any guesses?

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

Clearly not a plant…

Did you ever see The Labyrinth with David Bowie, Jennifer Connelly, and muppets by Jim Henson?  That caterpillar makes me think of the little worm in the wall that helps Sarah.  Actually, a lot of fungi make me think of Jim Henson creations from that movie, too…

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)

 

Finally, and completely unrelated…

Here’s a project I didn’t do, but get to benefit from:

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)A new haircut!  It was inspired by this picture I found on Pinterest.  Now if only I could get it to look that way when I don’t have a talented hairstylist to help me…

Here’s how it looks today:

Outside in October (Pattern and Branch)Changing weather, changing hair…it’s nice to have a change sometimes.

8 responses »

  1. I think the unidentified tree/bush might be witch hazel? Those squiggly blossoms look like witch hazel blooms to me. Love the new hair cut!

    Like

    • Yes, I also thought it was a spring bloomer? So don’t take my word for it. I’ll do a little research and let you know what I come up with. Right now I’m in the middle of making a fitted slip cover for a “dumpster dive” wing back chair.

      Like

  2. Yep, it’s official; the tree in question is a Common Witch Hazel : Hamamelis Virginiana. It is an Autumn bloomer from Oct-Dec. You can see more about it at missouribotanicalgarden.org

    Like

Comments? Leave them here.

