Me-Made-May ’15: Week Two

Standard

Time for another Me-Made-May ’15 update.  Unbelievably, I made it through week two of May without a repeat clothing item!  And, I’m still sticking with my one-a-day me-made goal.  So far, so good.  I have not yet resorted to panic sewing, although I did stay up late making a skirt the Saturday before Mother’s Day, but that was just because I wanted a new skirt.  No panic involved.  🙂  OK.  Enough babble.  On to the clothes!

 

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 8: Summer Blouse from the book Weekend Sewing, made from a vintage sheet #mmmay15

 

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 8: Summer Blouse from the book Weekend Sewing, made from a vintage sheet #mmmay15

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 8: Summer Blouse from the book Weekend Sewing, made from a vintage sheet (close-up) #mmmay15

Friday (Day 8) also came with a challenge to take a picture with your sewing machine or in your sewing area or something along those lines.

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 8: Summer Blouse from a vintage sheet and my sewing area #mmmay15

Yes, I feel THAT excited about sewing.  😉  You can see Day 10’s skirt cut out and ready to sew on the table behind me.

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 9: Raglan t-shirt from New Look dress pattern S0595, made from a knit sheet and two upcycled skirts #mmmay15

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 9: Raglan t-shirt from New Look dress pattern S0595, made from a knit sheet and two upcycled skirts (close-up) #mmmay15

Here’s the Mother’s Day skirt.  I had these plans to try making a lining with some free fabric someone gave me, and then I decided the lining material might be hot and I wanted the skirt right away, so I sacrificed the lining and maybe a little bit of quality to get it done.  This is one of those times when it feels like I should feel guilty, but I don’t.  Quick sewing projects rock.  They’re a good way to learn, right?  😉

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 10: Skirt from New Look 6843, made from a sheet #mmmay15

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 10: Skirt from New Look 6843, made from a sheet (close-up) #mmmay15

I’m laughing because I never know how to pose and that’s a fake cup of coffee.

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 11: Self-drafted leggings, used as pajama pants #mmmay15

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 11: Self-drafted leggings, used as pajama pants (close-up) #mmmay15

 

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 12: Alabama Chanin long-sleeved t-shirt turned into a V-neck #mmmay15

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 12: Alabama Chanin long-sleeved t-shirt turned into a V-neck (close-up) #mmmay15

I’ve been meaning to show you these leggings, but they haven’t made the blog until now.  I’m declaring this stretch the “workout pose” for the blog.

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 13: PB Jam Leggings by Fehr Trade #mmmay15

My friend tried to take an “action photo” at the gym, but it turned out blurry.  😦  You can imagine it was because I was moving so fast that my speed could not be shown rather than the fact that even though I froze, the indoor lighting made the picture blurry.

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 13: PB Jam Leggings by Fehr Trade #mmmay15

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 14: Alabama Chanin Long Skirt made from a knit sheet #mmmay15

 

Me-Made-May '15 (Pattern and Branch)

Day 14: Alabama Chanin Long Skirt made from a knit sheet (close-up) #mmmay15

The weather in this part of New England is pretty crazy.  We sometimes have temperature swings of 20 or 30 degrees Fahrenheit from one day to another (or even within a single day), but it’s really great for this challenge because it means I’m able to wear clothes from different seasons.

Are any of you doing the challenge?  If you are, how’s it going?  Hopefully it’s energizing and inspiring you to sew more.

 

 

 

 

6 responses »

Comments? Leave them here.

