The Woven Tank: Style Pattern 2879

Standard

Woven tanks seem to be going around the interwebs these days, and I was anxious to try one this summer.  I was tempted by the Tiny Pocket Tank by Grainline Studio and Megan Nielsen’s Eucalypt Woven Tank Top and Dress, but I thought I’d better see what I had in my own pattern library before running out and buying something new.

When my Mom cleared out some of her old patterns, I took Style 2879 home with me.  I remember that she used it to make me this beautiful white eyelet tank that I loved in high school.  View B seemed like a good one to try from some fabric I had around.  I had a plan…

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Remember this scarf?

Infinity Scarf by Pattern and Branch

I got the fabric at Grey’s Fabric and Notions in Boston one summer, and I loved it so much that I didn’t want to cut it down to the size that the scarf was actually supposed to be.  So…it turned out to be huge.  But!  I convinced myself that I liked it and I just needed to figure out how to style it…and then I proceeded not to wear it much.  It just wasn’t right.

So, my idea was to use the fabric in this tank top, putting a seam down the front and keeping the scarf’s lining as the lining for the shirt since this fabric is fairly thin.  Brilliant, right?  I thought it was a good idea.  🙂

This fabric choice necessitated a few changes to the pattern.  I wanted all my seams to be enclosed or finished somehow (I’m still so proud of myself when I do that!).  I also decided to add a strip of ribbon down the front, which did add some extra width to the shirt.  Without it, though, I would have had to sew the center seam with no seam allowance, merely butting the two pieces up against one another.  I didn’t want too many peek-a-boo possibilities, so opted for the ribbon.  Luckily, while it did move the darts out to the side a bit, they were still fine and by folding the ribbon in half, I could check to see that they would be fine if I also actually sewed the shirt as it was meant to be sewn (Good to know!).

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

I did have some problems with binding the neck and armholes.  I used bias tape that may have been wider than what was optimal and also changed the seam allowance so it would be easier to apply.  This was a mistake on my part because, when I finished, the edges were bound, but they stuck out in a strange enough way that I was contemplating hemming the shirt and sending it to the thrift store.  Sometimes you hit a point in a project that, even though you know you could fix it, you just don’t want to.  Luckily my Mom stepped in and saved the day (and the shirt) by suggesting I fold the bound edges to the inside and topstitch.  And it worked!  Yea!  Onward!

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

My only other change was to hem the bottom with a very narrow hem using some random bits of bias and hemming lace (or whatever it’s called).  The given hem depth was 1.5″ and I wanted the length to be as it was before hemming.  This solution was close enough to achieving my goal.  Next time I’ll just lengthen the shirt by 1.5″ or 2″.  I even found a button in my vintage button stash that sort of looked like it had triangles in it to coordinate with the print on the shirt.

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Here are a few detail shots of the outside, including the side slit.

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

So, I declare this shirt a success!  It was a good first try of this pattern.  I reused some lovely fabric and lining, giving me a lined tank, and I found a woven tank pattern in my pattern library.

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

Sewing Pattern:  Style 2879

The real test will come next summer when I see how much I wear it.  Now that I’ve shown it to you, though, I’m packing it away.  I’m working on my last summery piece now, and after that, I turn to fall and winter clothing (and maybe even a Christmas present or two–we’ll see!)!

8 responses »

  1. What a creative use of the original scarf! I love how you’re so resourceful with your supplies. With the crazy weather we’ve been having lately, it seems totally appropriate to be sewing tank tops. 🙂

    Like

  2. I call this a success! I love to seaming at the shoulder. I’m so bad about reusing fabrics in my stash. Good job! I have yet to have success with a good woven tank, maybe I’ll give it another try.

    Like

    • Thanks! And don’t worry–I’ve got a monster stash from when I loved fabric but didn’t sew much that really needs to get used. You are not alone! We’ll see if this becomes a TNT. I’m not sure yet, but there is a possibility…

      Like

Comments? Leave them here.

