Ahoy! Stuffed Whales from Tilda’s Seaside Ideas

Standard
Ahoy!  Stuffed Whales from Tilda’s Seaside Ideas

Hey, everyone!  It’s been awhile!  I’ve been sick or taking care of sick people for the last month over here; hence, the silence on the blog.  I think I am mostly better at this point, so I thought I ought to write up a blog post!  Thankfully I had these photos ready to go, because I haven’t gotten to the point of taking new blog photos yet.  Hopefully soon!

This one is a little bit of a departure from my usual makes.  I sewed up some stuffed whales from the book Tilda’s Seaside Ideas by Tone Finnanger.

IMG_8765

Both whales were baby gifts.  I tend to find an interesting project to make as a baby gift and then make that until I’m ready for a change.  In the past, I’ve made flannel baby blankets and burp cloths, little kitty stuffed animals, etc.  This time I decided to go with whales.

IMG_8779

I can’t remember how I found this pattern–maybe Pinterest, but my library system had the book that the pattern was in, so I checked it out and got started.  I had some Art Gallery denim left over from my shorts, and I liked the idea of using that for the whales.

Whale Stuffed Animals

It’s a match!

For one of them, I used a little lace flower as an embellishment because I thought it fit my friend’s style.

IMG_8770

For the other whale, created for a family member, I made a little heart from the bridesmaid dress I wore in her wedding.

IMG_8771

The eyes are drawn in with a fabric marker, so I wouldn’t have to worry about them becoming choking hazards.

I am not experienced in making stuffed animals, but I thought that certain parts of the pattern seemed a little…ambitious?  In general, it’s an easy pattern, but there were some stitching lines on the tail and fins that you are supposed to push stuffing into, and since I made the medium size whales, it didn’t seem very realistic to think I could stuff those without a lot of frustration.  Just getting stuffing into the little space under the sewn mouth was tricky enough, so I left off the added tail and fin stitching.

This wasn’t a tricky project overall, and I really love how they turned out.  I think the moms liked them, and it was good to have a homemade gift to give.  I used to give handmade baby gifts almost exclusively, but I really don’t any more–just once in a while.  Now I’ll have to keep my eye out for the next baby gift project.

Recommendations

  • A great sewing blog that I have been looking through lately is A Fashionable Stitch.  Sunni hasn’t been posting much lately, but she has a few years’ worth of very informative, interesting, and inspiring posts.
  • I love Anne Bannert’s feed on Instagram (@anne_bannert).  She started following me when I first began using Instagram (although I have no idea why or even if she still follows me), but I followed her back and found the most fascinating feed.  She is a model, originally from Germany, who lives in Connecticut.  However if, when I say “model”, you picture a pretty but helpless woman, you would be completely wrong.  If Anne’s car needs new seat covers, she’ll sew them.  If her fence falls down, she cuts new posts, pours some concrete, and fixes her fence.  Maybe she’ll weld something, or play polo, or train a horse or take care of chickens.  This lady is truly impressive.  It’s so much fun to get a glimpse into her life.
  • Another cool Instagram feed to check out is Eugenia Zoloto’s (@eugenia_zoloto).  She is a paper cutting artist in Ukraine.  Her work is really stunning.
  • I don’t know why fitness can be so funny, but here’s another LEGIT workout for you!  Prancercise!!!!
8 responses »

Comments? Leave them here.

